Community Supporters

The Ontario Waterpower Association (OWA) would like to invite you to be a waterpower champion and to get involved in supporting community waterpower. Waterpower is the original community power – embedded in dozens of villages, towns, Indigenous communities and cities across Ontario.

Your community may be an existing waterpower champion, may want to learn about potential opportunities or may just want to be informed. Wherever your community is, anyone can be a waterpower champion.

The communities below have signed on to be Waterpower Champions by Proclaiming Waterpower Day and/or signing the Ontario Waterpower Champions Charter

  • City of Peterborough
  • City of Quinte West
  • City of Kawartha Lakes
  • Municipality of Trent Hills
  • City of Kingston
  • City of Niagara Falls
  • Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM)
  • Township of Selwyn
  • Corporation of the Municipality of Mississippi Mills
  • Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Town of Renfrew
  • Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA)
  • Town of Smooth Rock Falls
  • Municipality of Wawa
  • Village of South River
  • Town of Blind River
  • Township of Ear Falls
  • City of Timmins
  • Corporation of the Town of Cochrane

Beyond supporting community waterpower projects, below highlights the many ways you can  be a waterpower champion:

1. Celebrate Waterpower Day – June 20th

2. Connect with OWA

3. Use OWA as your resource for waterpower information and questions

4. Take Action – Write a letter to your local representatives in support of waterpower